HINCKLEY AND BOSWORTH BOROUGH COUNCIL

14 May 2024 AT 6.30 pm

PRESENT: CLLR SM GIBBENS - MAYOR CLLR R WEBBER-JONES – DEPUTY MAYOR

Cllr CM Allen, Cllr RG Allen, Cllr MC Bools, Cllr SL Bray, Cllr MB Cartwright, Cllr MA Cook, Cllr DS Cope, Cllr MJ Crooks, Cllr WJ Crooks, Cllr REH Flemming, Cllr C Gibbens, Cllr DT Glenville, Cllr CE Green, Cllr C Harris, Cllr L Hodgkins, Cllr E Hollick, Cllr C Lambert, Cllr KWP Lynch, Cllr J Moore, Cllr LJ Mullaney, Cllr MT Mullaney, Cllr LJP O'Shea, Cllr A Pendlebury, Cllr M Simmons, Cllr H Smith, Cllr P Stead-Davis, Cllr BE Sutton, Cllr BR Walker, Cllr A Weightman and Cllr P Williams

Officers in attendance: Bill Cullen, Julie Kenny, Rebecca Owen and Sharon Stacey

1. Appointment of Mayor for the ensuing year

On the motion of Councillor Bray, seconded by Councillor Bools, it was

RESOLVED – Councillor Webber-Jones be appointed Mayor for the ensuing municipal year.

Councillor Webber-Jones made the requisite declaration of acceptance of office and the retiring Mayor invested him with the chain of office.

The Mayor, Councillor Webber-Jones, took the chair at this point.

The retiring Mayoress invested Amelia and Clara Webber-Jones with the consort's chain.

In addressing the meeting, Councillor Webber-Jones introduced his chaplains and cadets and announced his charities for the year.

It was then moved by Councillor M Mullaney, seconded by Councillor Hodgkins and

RESOLVED – a vote of thanks be accorded to Councillor S Gibbens for service during his term of office as Mayor.

Councillor Gibbens then addressed the meeting, thanking his cadets, fellow councillors, officers and the Mayoress. The Mayor then presented Councillor Gibbens with the Past Mayor's medal.

Councillor Bray presented the Leader's medal to Councillor Cathie Gibbens.

2. Appointment of Deputy Mayor for the ensuing year

On the motion of Councillor Williams, seconded by Councillor Walker, it was

RESOLVED – Councillor Flemming be appointed Deputy Mayor for the ensuing year.

Councillor Flemming then made the requisite declaration of acceptance of office and the Mayor invested him with the Deputy Mayor's chain of office and Mrs Flemming with the Deputy Mayoress' chain.

3. Apologies

Apologies for absence were submitted on behalf of Councillors Boothby and Surtees.

4. **Declarations of interest**

No interests were declared.

5. Establishment of and appointment to council bodies

It was moved by Councillor Bray, seconded by Councillor Bools and unanimously

RESOLVED -

- (i) The amended political balance and allocation of seats be approved;
- (ii) Appointments to council bodies be made as follows:
 - a. Appeals Panel

Councillor R Flemming (chair); Councillor B Walker (vice-chair); Councillor C Boothby; Councillor M Cartwright; Councillor M Crooks; Councillor W Crooks; Councillor D Glenville; Councillor C Harris; Councillor L Hodgkins; Councillor J Moore; Councillor L O'Shea; Councillor M Simmons.

b. Audit Committee

Councillor D Cope (chair); Councillor A Pendlebury (vice-chair); Councillor C Allen; Councillor R Flemming; Councillor S Gibbens; Councillor E Hollick; Councillor C Lambert; Councillor M Surtees; Councillor B Sutton; Councillor R Webber-Jones; Councillor P Williams. c. Ethical Governance & Personnel Committee

Councillor A Pendlebury (chair); Councillor E Hollick (vice-chair); Councillor M Cartwright; Councillor M Cook; Councillor M Crooks; Councillor W Crooks; Councillor C Green; Councillor C Harris; Councillor K Lynch.

d. Finance & Performance Scrutiny

Councillor M Surtees (chair); Councillor P Williams (vice-chair); Councillor D Cope; Councillor D Glenville; Councillor L Mullaney; Councillor H Smith; Councillor P Stead-Davis; Councillor B Sutton; Councillor A Weightman.

e. Hinckley Area Committee

Councillor C Gibbens (chair); Councillor L Mullaney (vice-chair); Councillor Bray; Councillor Cope; Councillor S Gibbens; Councillor Hodgkins; Councillor Lynch; Councillor Moore; Councillor M Mullaney; Councillor Pendlebury.

f. Licensing Committee

Councillor D Glenville (chair); Councillor P Stead-Davis (vice-chair); Councillor R Allen; Councillor M Bools; Councillor M Cartwright; Councillor W Crooks; Councillor C Green; Councillor L Hodgkins; Councillor M Mullaney; Councillor L O'Shea; Councillor B Sutton.

g. Planning Committee

Councillor M Crooks (chair); Councillor J Moore (vicechair); Councillor C Allen; Councillor R Allen; Councillor C Boothby; Councillor S Bray; Councillor M Cook; Councillor R Flemming; Councillor C Gibbens; Councillor S Gibbens; Councillor C Green; Councillor E Hollick; Councillor K Lynch; Councillor L Mullaney; Councillor H Smith; Councillor B Walker; Councillor A Weightman.

h. Scrutiny Commission

Councillor C Lambert (chair); Councillor M Surtees (vice-chair); Councillor P Williams (vice-chair); Councillor D Cope; Councillor M Crooks; Councillor C Gibbens; Councillor C Harris; Councillor J Moore; Councillor A Pendlebury; Councillor M Simmons; Councillor A Weightman.

6. Appointment to working groups

It was moved by Councillor Bray, seconded by Councillor Bools and unanimously

RESOLVED – the following appointments be made to working groups:

(i) Asset Strategy & Regeneration Group

Councillor Lynch (chair); Councillor Moore (vice-chair); Councillor R Allen; Councillor W Crooks; Councillor Lambert; Councillor Surtees; Councillor Williams.

(ii) Member Development Group

Councillor Bray (chair); Councillor Weightman (vice-chair); Councillor S Gibbens; Councillor Green; Councillor Pendlebury; Councillor Sutton; Councillor Simmons.

7. Appointment to Leicestershire Partnership Joint Committee

It was moved by Councillor Bray, seconded by Councillor Bools and unanimously

RESOLVED – Councillors Bray and Lynch be appointed to the Leicestershire Partnership Joint Committee.

8. Appointment of representatives to outside bodies

It was moved by Councillor Bray, seconded by Councillor Bools and unanimously

RESOLVED – the following appointments be made to outside bodies:

A5 partnership

Councillor WJ Crooks

Bradgate Landfill Liaison Committee (2)

Councillors Cartwright & Hollick

Charnwood Forest Steering Group

Councillor Cartwright

Cliffe Hill Quarry Liaison Committee (2)

Councillors Cartwright & Harris

Community Safety Partnership

Councillor MT Mullaney

Desford Brickworks Liaison Committee

Councillor Webber-Jones

East Midlands Councils

Councillor Bray

Groby Quarry Liaison Committee

Councillor Hollick

Health & Wellbeing Partnership

Councillor Bools

Hinckley & Bosworth Community Transport Councillor LJ Mullaney

Hinckley & Bosworth Sports & Health Alliance

Councillor JR Moore

Hinckley & Bosworth Tourism Partnership

Councillor Bools

Hinckley Town Centre Partnership

Councillor Glenville

Horiba Mira Community Liaison Group

Councillor Cook

Leicester City, Leicestershire and Rutland Police & Crime Panel

anei

Councillor MT Mullaney

Leicestershire & Rutland Heritage Forum

Councillor Williams

Local Government Association General Assembly (1 + named substitute)

Councillor Bray (Councillor Bools substitute)

PATROL (Parking & Traffic Regulations outside London) Adjudication Joint Committee

Councillor Cope

Voluntary & Community Sector Partnership Commissioning Board (2)

Councillors Cartwright & MT Mullaney.

9. **Appointment to charitable body**

It was moved by Councillor Bray, seconded by Councillor Bools and unanimously

RESOLVED – Patricia Bannister be appointed to Hinckley Grammar School Foundation for a term of three years from May 2024.

(The Meeting closed at 7.14 pm)

MAYOR